Atomic Weapons—a Drop in the Bucket

Posted by David –
Maroon Bells - Snowmass Wilderness Area

Maroon Bells - Snowmass Wilderness Area

Lenten Reflections

As the popular song goes, “I’ll never know how much it cost to see my sin upon that cross…” But how much did it really cost for Jesus to go to the cross? There have certainly been many people throughout the ages who have died horrible deaths for the sake of others. What was so different about Jesus?

To answer this, I find myself remembering the warbling chatter of a flock of pine siskins in the top of a tall stand of ancient Douglas-firs. I step back and watch my family and friends enjoying each other’s company. I remember the bright quarter moon on a clear winter evening with stars speckling the deep blue sky. I close my eyes and think about the reality of the most distant galaxy.

In John’s gospel he begins, “In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God…All things were made through him, and without him was not any thing made that was made.”

But when Jesus died, mustn’t everything that was made through him die also? And not only that, but Jesus was also said to have descended to hell (Acts 2:31, 1 Peter 3:19). What does that mean for all of the universe that was made through him?

The sad truth is that, in our pride and jealousy, we executed the author of our beloved universe. We sent all of nature to hell—including ourselves. Nothing we ever do will compare to the damage we’ve already done by sending Jesus to the cross. We think our atomic weapons are destructive. They are nothing.

Our only hope is to be raised again with Jesus. Proclaim it from the rooftops. It is that real.

“In a little while I will once more shake the heavens and the earth, the sea and the dry land. I will shake the nations, and the best of all will come, and I will fill this house with glory. The silver is mine and the gold is mine. The glory of the present house will be greater than the glory of the former. And in this place I will grant peace,” declared the LORD of all Creation.

Haggai 2:6-9

Leave a comment

Filed under Christianity

Leave a Reply

