The Habit of Agape – transformation from dark to light

Posted by David
France, World War I, 1916, © Stapleton Historical Collection / Heritage Images / Imagestate

France, World War I, 1916, © Stapleton Historical Collection / Heritage Images / Imagestate

Part 4 – Love, relationships, and marriage

All relationships are a mixture of joy and pain, everyone can attest to that—some more painful and some more joyful than others. We must remember that God has placed us where we are and some of us exist in some mighty strange and difficult situations indeed.

I recall having a dream about someone close to me. He was across the room from me yelling in a slobbering fit of irate anger. Terrible words were spewing from his mouth. I was using a bed as a bunker, hiding from the onslaught with another person next to me. I knew the person next to me was a friend, someone who I was protecting. I looked over at him and realized it was him. It was the same irate man, but instead he was cowering from himself.

As painful as it is, sometimes this becomes our role in life with our friends and spouses. What is required of us becomes almost unbearable. We need rest and must take it. But sometimes sleepless, we are thrust into the battlefield as medics and priests, pulling a wounded body from the throes of war. At times we realize we are nursing our enemy. At all times, we must look past the beast and into the eyes of the child of God, however empty of that child he or she seems to be. For as we nurse the individual, not only are we nursing ourselves, but we are nursing our Lord and Savior Jesus on the cross.

And this is the habit of agape, something in which we all must gain practice. The more we encounter life, it seems, the more this becomes the norm.

“Then the King will say to those on his right, ‘Come, you who are blessed by my Father, inherit the kingdom prepared for you from the foundation of the world. For I was hungry and you gave me food, I was thirsty and you gave me drink, I was a stranger and you welcomed me, I was naked and you clothed me, I was sick and you visited me, I was in prison and you came to me.’ Then the righteous will answer him, saying, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you drink? And when did we see you a stranger and welcome you, or naked and clothe you? And when did we see you sick or in prison and visit you?’ And the King will answer them, ‘Truly, I say to you, as you did it to one of the least of these my brothers, you did it to me.’”

Matthew 35-34-40

Leave a comment

Filed under Christianity, Love, war

Leave a Reply

